SOAP

Yes, you did read that right.

So what is SOAP? I’m sure I’d heard of it before, but yesterday I came across it again, thanks to Moms’ Toolbox. Ephesians 5:26 talks about the church. It says Christ sanctifies and cleanses us (makes us holy and cleans us up) with the washing of water through the Word. We all need cleaning up, and SOAP is one way to do it. As we read God’s Word (the Bible), we can take these steps –

Scripture: Write down one verse that jumps out at you from the passage you’re reading.

Observation: What is God telling you through this verse?

Application: How can you apply it to your life?

Prayer: Ask for God’s help to do this.

Do you like the idea? I do. It’s simple and it’s fun. Here’s an example –

Scripture: Isaiah 9:8-10 – “The LORD has sent a message against Jacob; it will fall on Israel. All the people will know it – Ephraim and the inhabitants of Samaria – who say with pride and arrogance of heart, ‘The bricks have fallen down, but we will rebuild with dressed stone; the fig trees have been felled, but we will replace them with cedars’”.

Observation: When you’re crumbling, don’t try to look impressive; when you’re feeling a lack of peace, don’t try replacing it with a display of your own strength.

Application: For at least the 4th time this week, God’s speaking to me about being honest with Him, and not putting on a mask (dressed stone). When I feel overwhelmed by what’s going on around me, I need to rest in the presence of God, like the Old-Testament Jews who sat under their fig trees. I need to let Him in and let Him give me His peace, instead of proudly trying to keep it together.

Prayer: Father, thank You for speaking to me again this week about being honest with You. Thank You that You care so much about my feelings. It’s amazing to be loved so deeply by the God who made the universe. Please help me to come to You more and more, to spend time with You, to feel Your peace, and to pour out my heart to You, because I know You love me and want to share my life with me. Thank You for that, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Do you fancy having a go? Why not do some SOAPing and share it in the comments?

One thought on “SOAP

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Song: “To the Overcomers” | Faith, Life and Compassion

Your Thoughts?

