The Importance of Church

When I became a Christian, it was at a church some distance from my home, so I didn’t know of a church in my locality that I could go to. I knew one thing: I didn’t want to go back to the one my parents took me to in my early teens. At the time, I felt that would snuff out this fresh faith that was inside me, so I read some Bible-notes from UCB called “Word for Today”, but I didn’t attend any church.

So what changed? In my Bible-notes one day was a poem – “10 Reasons Why I Don’t Wash”. I’ll put it here, for any who haven’t heard it:
1. I was forced to wash as a child.
2. People who wash are hypocrites – they think they are cleaner than everyone else.
3. There are so many different brands of soap. I can’t decide which one is best for me.
4. I used to wash, but I got bored, so I stopped.
5. I only wash on special occasions.
6. None of my friends wash.
7. I’ll start washing when I get older and dirtier.
8. I don’t have time to wash.
9. The bathroom is never warm enough in winter or cool enough in summer.
10. People who make soap are only after your money.
========================================
Ok; it’s a bit of fun, but I think you’ll see the parallels with church. “I just don’t know which church is right for me” – I was one of those people. “Churches are only after your money” – I’ve heard that said, but the church is the family of God. They’re the people who love the One I love and, despite any imperfections, I’m glad to be a churchgoing Christian.

Do you have any thoughts on church you’d like to share in the comments?

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Church

  1. Pingback: The Power of Words | Faith, Life and Compassion

  2. Pingback: 31 Days of Memories: When you Really Feel Clean | Faith, Life and Compassion

Your Thoughts?

