The Armour

“Therefore put on the full armour of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God” – Ephesians 6:13-17.

 

When I moved to where I live now, I had to spend about 6 weeks without E-mail or the Internet.  I had lots of sympathy from friends and family, who knew how many hours I spent at the computer, but actually, the time went quicker than I thought.  During that time I was sitting on my bed, thinking about the armour of God, when I realised something.

 

The belt of truth buckled around your waist – who is the Truth?  Jesus (John 14:6).

The breastplate of righteousness – who is the Righteous One?  Jesus (1 John 2:1).

The good news of peace – who is our Peace?  Jesus (Ephesians 2:14).

The shield of faith – who do we put our faith in?

The helmet of salvation – who saves us?

And finally, the sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God – doesn’t John talk about how the Word became flesh and made His home among us (John 1:14)?

 

I see Jesus as the full armour of God.  All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to Him (Matthew 28:18), so if we take Jesus into our situations, the devil’s “Flaming arrows” (his attempts to ruin our lives) will be blown out like a candle.  I think of when Jesus breathed on His disciples and they received the Holy Spirit.  Once Jesus breathes His Spirit into a situation, the devil doesn’t have authority over it any longer.

 

With Jesus, we can stand.

* * *

And that brings us to the end of the book of Ephesians!  I hope you’ve enjoyed reading these posts as much as I’ve enjoyed writing them.  Shall we keep reading with Amy till the end of the month?

Your Thoughts?

