Learning the Secret

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation” – Philippians 4:12.

 

Confession:  I’m still learning.  I mentioned in another post about the cuts the UK-government are making, and how things aren’t looking as secure as they used to.  This is affecting me personally.  I’m not pleading poverty; I hope I’ll never do that as long as I’ve got clothes to wear and food on the table, but I am having to be more careful with money because I sponsor my lovely children.  When I sponsored them, I did it because I could afford to, but now the government have decided I need less money to live on.  I want to be a good steward of what God has given me so I can see them through to the end of their time at Compassion, but sometimes, like this morning when I felt like thanking David Cameron for ruining my life, I feel disconnected from my children.  I wonder do I love them at all?  And if I give to the poor, but have not love …  I’m tempted to drop the sponsorships and live for myself.  Sounds ugly, doesn’t it?  And then I go to my Bible … and read this verse … and I know I need God to teach me the secret.

 

God has an amazing way of helping put things in perspective.  When I’m being all melodramatic and having thoughts like this morning’s, it’s not just disconnection from my children; I’m distancing myself from Him, but His peaceful presence is always there for us.  Within about half an hour, I had stopped feeling I wasn’t ready for today and had given myself a reality check:  David Cameron hasn’t ruined my life.  He’s only the Prime Minister; he’s not God.  If God has called me to sponsor my children right up until they leave the programme, He’ll take care of it.  I don’t like not knowing, but God wants me to be free from worry; free from bitterness …  He wants me to be content.

 

This is a song I can’t seem to stop singing lately.  It’s so cheerful, and as the chorus says:

“You’ve done a good work in me,

“And You won’t quit till I’m free”!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsOoJ2OuMK0

Thanks for reading these posts on Philippians, and I’d love to chat to you in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Learning the Secret

  1. Pingback: Restoration is ACE | Faith, Life & Compassion

Your Thoughts?

