The Power of Words

I’ve written before on the importance of church.  Just thought I’d tell you an up-to-date story:

 

Last Sunday, a lady I don’t know very well said to me:  “You’re always smiling.  Do you know that?  You really shine with the Lord”.  I knew it was only half-true.  I’m not always smiling; for one thing I don’t smile much when I’ve really hoped for that job and it didn’t materialise, but the thought that somebody else could see Jesus in me!  That’s what church should be:  A group of Christians encouraging each other.

 

During the week, the things people say – even positive things – can fill you with questions sometimes.  I just saw one person comment to another on Facebook:  “Look at the glory of God in your life now”, and straightaway I’m asking myself:  Can people see the glory of God in my life?  And into my mind come that lady’s words from Sunday:  They’ve lasted me the whole week.

 

I love church.  How do people survive without it?  I know it isn’t always what it should be, but that’s why the Bible tells us to be patient and allow for one another’s faults (Ephesians 4:2).

 

Do you go to a church?  Would you recommend it to your friends?

2 thoughts on “The Power of Words

Your Thoughts?

