Go, Tell Your Enough

Lisa-Jo’s 5-Minute Friday theme this week was “Enough”.  I know; it’s not Friday, but as this has been a week when “Enough” meant so much, I thought I’d write my post – a bit belatedly.

 

I sat down the other day to do my budgeting.  I do it every year – work out how much I’m getting, what I have to pay out, and how much I’ll have left to spend … but it was different this year:  Because this year, the government had made some changes and the money I get to pay my rent had been halved.  My worst scenario was that eventually my savings would run out, and I wouldn’t have the money to see my children through the Compassion-programme any more.

 

When I start something, I start intending to finish.  I felt God had called me to sponsor these children, but my question was:  Had He called me to do that right to the end of their sponsorships?  I didn’t want to be a dropout and I didn’t want to let them down.

 

The next bit doesn’t make sense.  I looked at what was coming in; I took into account my utility bills, food etc.  I still had enough to sponsor them – and some to spend; not as much as previously, but enough.  To say I was excited was an understatement!  I wanted to tell people, which could have been a problem:  Because what about those who have more than enough – who’ve worked hard to get that more-than-enough?  When they see you not working as hard as they do, and still having enough; will they resent you?  And then, the ones who have less-than-enough; will they hear your news and think you’re insensitive because you mentioned it?

 

Well, I told people anyway, and they were happy to share my good news.  I had a surprise message today from one of those more-than-enough people who wrote:  “Glad you are still able to sponsor the children as you enjoy it so much”.

 

As I write this I’m starting to think:  Are we like that with God?  As I face my struggles and He gets me through the days, giving me peace when I turn to Him in my weakness, He’s my Enough.  Am I telling people?  Because spiritually-speaking, there are those with less-than-enough – those who struggle and think there’s no one to turn to in their time of need …  And what about the ones who think they have more than enough, but they’re living without Him; will I be a spokesperson for Jesus?  He told the church at Laodicea:  “You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’  But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked” – Revelation 3:17.

 

It takes courage to challenge people about where they are with the Lord, and wisdom too.  Jesus’ friend Peter wrote:  “Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do this with gentleness and respect” – 1 Peter 3:15, so as followers of Christ, we must speak with sensitivity … but let’s still speak.

 

Go, tell your Enough.

Your Thoughts?

