Finding Answers 3

Now the third and final puzzle:  This is my favourite.  She said:  “I just don’t believe an invisible man in the sky could get a woman pregnant”.

 

I think my best advice here would be to change focus.  God is three people rolled into one – God the Father, God’s Son (Jesus), and the Holy Spirit.  Only Jesus was ever a physical man whose face people could see, but it was the Holy Spirit who got Mary pregnant.

 

When Jesus touched someone, people could see Him touching them.  But when God’s Holy Spirit’s at work, something always happens on the inside and flows out – the total opposite of two people having sex, which is an outward, visible thing.

 

If you’ve sat in a church at Christmas-time, you will have heard the story of when the angel visited Mary.  You might remember this verse:  “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you” (Luke 1:35).  In the best explanation of Christmas I’ve ever heard, my friend said the literal meaning of ‘Overshadow’ in Greek is to envelop.  Imagine someone throwing their arms around you and you’re enveloped in a massive hug!

 

Later when the Holy Spirit came, the Bible says there was “a sound like the blowing of a violent wind” (Acts 2:2).  I wonder if it was the same when the Spirit came to Mary?  I like to imagine her sitting in her room with the door open, and a strong breeze comes in.  In front, behind, to the left and to the right of her, there’s this wind, and Mary sits peacefully in the middle – enveloped in it.  She’s in the glory of God.  Something’s happening on the inside, and afterwards, she finds out she’s pregnant.  I can see how that could happen.

* * *

I want to say how grateful I am to the girl who inspired these posts.  I won’t mention her name, but she’ll know who she is if she reads this.  Thanks!  🙂  XX

Your Thoughts?

