Danny

We’ve been having such fun at church this week.  It’s our holiday club, so we have 60 primary school-age children (20 from church and 40 others), their parents get them to us for 10 am and pick them up 2 hours later.  In the meantime there are songs, stories, quizzes, games etc.

 

Nearly halfway through the morning, we split into groups to do different activities, and I’m one of those helping with the 3 to 5-year-olds.  There aren’t many of us, which makes it easier to get to know them.  Yesterday, when a little boy was asked would he like to make a picture, he said:  “No thank you”.  He preferred to connect little pieces of plastic together to make a long pole, but I heard him count the pieces as he went.  He got to 27, and he was number-perfect!  I decided I really wanted to talk to him.  I got down on my knees and explained that my eyes didn’t work; I would have to use my fingers, but would he show me what he’d made.

 

We were onto a different story today, and the others were building houses, but he wanted to make a church.  When he’d finished, he came over to me, put it in my hand and said:  “Feel what I’ve made”.

 

“Wow!  Is that the tower on the top?”

 

“No, that’s just the bit that goes up and up and up.”

 

“Oh …  That looks an interesting church.  I think I’d like to go to that church.”

 

“You won’t fit in it!”

* * *

It would be very easy for me to say this little boy was my favourite.  Then I think of God – the One I follow, who doesn’t have favourites.  In the Bible, Paul tells us:  “There is no favouritism with Him” (Ephesians 6:9), and we’re encouraged to “Do nothing out of favouritism” (1 Timothy 5:21).

 

With this little boy, I was able to pick up on things he did, that maybe others wouldn’t have noticed.  I can’t do that for every single person – spend time focusing on them and getting to know and love them, but God can.  If you’re sitting working on a project, checking and double-checking the detail, even if no one’s there to praise you for it, God sees, and He rewards people according to what they’ve done.  If you make even a small effort to reach out to God, like that little boy putting his creation into my hand, you’ll make God smile.

 

Please know His eye is on you, and He loves you more than I can say.  Isn’t that worth celebrating?

2 thoughts on “Danny

  1. Oh, this warmed my heart. I teach the 4 and 5 year old Sunday School class at our church and I’m certain they bless me more than I bless them!
    So thrilled to “meet” you today!
    All for Him,
    Nikki

    • I was just thinking exactly the same today – how it’s absolutely made my week! I feel blessed, and yet we’re meant to be the ones ministering to them.

      It’s lovely to meet you too. I think I’ll be back to visit your blog soon. 🙂

Your Thoughts?

