I See Jesus

After a week with the kids, today is catch-up day.  I have groceries being delivered, washing to do, E-mails to send … so what do I do first?  See what book came through the post for me yesterday.

 

It’s Matt Redman’s The Unquenchable Worshipper.  What I like about people like Matt Redman and Darlene Czech is that they include Scripture in some of their songs.  If I sense someone’s a Bible-believing Christian and they write a book on worship, I want to read it.

 

I’ve only read the first chapter so far, but it’s really good.  In it he talks about how fire extinguishers work – by removing 3 things:  Heat, oxygen, and fuel.  I won’t go through all his points; I don’t want to spoil it for other readers, but he says the fuel for our worship-fire is the revelation of God.  There are different ways in which God reveals Himself to us, and His Word (the Bible) is one of them.  Psalm 89 was mentioned, so I got out my falling-apart book of Psalms and started to read.  I came to verse 17:  “By Your favour You exalt our Horn”.

 

Who is the Horn of our salvation – the One who saves us?  Jesus.  “And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled himself and became obedient to death – even death on a cross!  Therefore God exalted Him to the highest place and gave Him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow” – Philippians 2:8-10.  So, because of God’s favour He exalted Jesus?  Yes, it’s true.  If God hadn’t been pleased with us, and wanted us with Him forever, Jesus wouldn’t have died on that cross.  “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life” – John 3:16.

 

Can you see Jesus in your Bible-reading today?

One thought on “I See Jesus

  1. Pingback: Great Honour | Faith, Life and Compassion

Your Thoughts?

