Let Go, Hold On

Do you ever read articles and listen to sermons, and one person says one thing, one person says another and you end up totally confused?  Or is it just me?

 

I listened today to someone saying God is an abundant God – a King with finance, healing and so on under His authority.  Then I read about someone else, who gave away 15 boxes of clothes, including a pair of heeled shoes she found it hard to part with, because she felt God was convicting her to have less.  So which is He:  A God of abundance or a God of necessity?

 

Another example:  I heard someone say he looked at people living their ordinary lives and feeling small, and he saw a cage around them and wanted to grab hold of the bars and set them free.  Then I read about how sometimes there’s a reason God doesn’t move us out of situations.  So what does He want:  For us to let go and move on, or persevere and hold on?

 

I think the first question’s easier to answer than the second.  “Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment.  Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share” – 1 Timothy 6:17-18.  Be generous, but don’t forget God loves you and wants to be generous to you, too.  He is ok with you enjoying things, as long as things aren’t your priority.

 

Now to the tricky one:  If you see the situation you’re in as a cage, do you ask to be freed from it, or to stay as you are in hope that the way you live will speak to someone’s heart?  If you’re unsure, can I give you my answer?  Take … one … day … at … a … time – something God told me a few years ago and reminded me of again today.  It’s a great piece of advice.  Sometimes we can get so worked-up about what we think we should be asking for, it can rob us of our joy in the present.  Didn’t Jesus tell us not to worry about tomorrow (Matthew 6:34)?  Just like parents don’t tell children everything when they’re too young to understand, maybe we’re not ready and God needs us to wait … but let’s enjoy the waiting.

4 thoughts on “Let Go, Hold On

  1. Two very big questions here!! I agree with the “let go and take one day at a time”. It’s important!
    I’ve stopped reading too much of or listening to too many “unknowns” and their opinions on God. I find it easiest to read the Word and wait for the Spirit of God to share the Truth with me.
    I think this post could possibly start a great conversation….!!!

    • Oh, thanks for the comment. I can see what you’re saying. I enjoy listening to good preaching, and since becoming a blogger myself I’ve come across some great blogs that I love to read, but I certainly do think about what I hear and read and whether it lines up with God’s Word. My favourite website is http://www.incourage.me and people I’ve got to know through Incourage and through Compassion, even though I’ve never met them in person, they bless me so much.

      I certainly hope that one day one of my posts does start a great conversation, because I love online community and meeting other bloggers. 🙂

Your Thoughts?

