“Unglued” Chapter 9: A Love Beyond Compare

I read chapter 9 (about comparison), and I’ll be honest; that has been a struggle for me, even though 2 Corinthians 10:12 tells us that:  “When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise.”  I didn’t want to write a great long post about the people I’ve sometimes compared myself to, so I sat down and thought how I could do it differently.  This is what came:

* * *

Shall I look at someone greater, and so believe the lie

That what I have to give is not enough?

Shall I look at someone lesser, with an eye for all their faults –

Is that the only way to see my good?

 

Father, You’re so great; You sit in heavenly splendour,

And looking down at me, what do You see?

Your eyes see first the One who sits at Your right hand;

Fervent in His love, He pleads my case –

He’s more than enough.

 

And Father, when You look at me, do You list my faults –

The thoughts; the words; the misdeeds; the unspoken?

Your eyes see first His scarred hands and feet –

A love that hung on a cross to die –

A nail for each of these.

 

Father, I compare myself to no one,

Because You look at me through Him.

One thought on ““Unglued” Chapter 9: A Love Beyond Compare

Your Thoughts?

