Giving Is … Offering Yourself

Thanks for joining me for this “It’s About Giving” series, and I want to say a big thank-you to Compassion Bloggers for the idea.  I’ve really enjoyed thinking what I associate with giving and what we can learn from the Bible about it; I hope you have too.  This will probably be the last blog I write for 2012, so thank you very much for reading this year.

We had communion at church today.  I wasn’t expecting to, and I love communion, so it was a nice surprise.  Jesus tells us to take communion in remembrance of Him, and this time of year, I’m remembering the beginning of His earthly life more than the end of it.  As the bread was passed around, “In the Bleak Mid-Winter” was played on the keyboard.  The verse that came to my mind, we missed out when we sang it later, but I’ll share it here:

Enough for Him, whom cherubim
Worship night and day,
A breast full of milk,
And a manger full of hay;
Enough for Him whom angels
Fall before,
The ox and ass and camel,
Which adore.

Angels adored Jesus that first Christmas; shepherds adored Him; wise men adored Him …  The writer of the carol obviously thinks, and I would agree, that even the animals adored Him.

I can’t say this thought is my own, but it’s from a sermon my friend preached a few years back.
Do you know that as well as gold to symbolise His kingship, frankincense to point to the fact He was God, and myrrh to signify His death, the wise men gave another very important gift?  Their worship.  “They entered the house and saw the child with His mother, Mary, and they bowed down and worshipped Him” (Matthew 2:11).  One of my favourite writers, Sharon Jaynes, says the sacrifice they made to go on their long journey to find Jesus was also a gift.

Giving is offering yourself.  So whether it’s the gift of a long journey or our adoration, let’s offer ourselves to Jesus in 2013 and beyond.  Are you with me?

Your Thoughts?

