Not Ashamed

Do you sometimes think people look at you and see someone who’s not enough – not capable enough, not mature enough, not interesting enough?  I do, and I’ve a feeling I’m not the only one.  Where do we go for help at times like that?

 

At the beginning of the week, I was out with a team of people doing a school assembly.  I had to stand up, take a few steps forward and turn to face the children; that’s all.  Someone I hadn’t worked with before saw my blindness and thought the children would worry about me, but I think she was more worried than any of them were!  She was constantly fussing.  Was I happy to do it?  Did I want her to walk with me?  I left that building feeling I was no good and couldn’t do anything right.  Yes, that was rubbish, but feelings can be like that.  So, a couple of days later, before the next assembly, I went to one of my favourite verses in the Bible.  I wanted to remind myself of truth before I went out into the world:  “Since you are precious and honoured in my sight, and because I love you” – Isaiah 43:4.  Did you get that?  God does not see you as no good.  You are precious and honoured in His sight.

 

There’s another, similar one:  “The LORD bestows favour and honour; no good thing does He withhold from those whose walk is blameless” – Psalm 84:11.

 

And here’s the one I particularly wanted to share.  It came into my mind this morning:  “Jesus and the people He makes holy all belong to the same family.  That is why He isn’t ashamed to call them His brothers and sisters” – Hebrews 2:11 (Contemporary English Version).  What a great chapter Hebrews 2 is, and I can still remember when I first heard that verse – 20 March 2005; I even remember who was preaching.  I remember it because it absolutely blew me away, and it still does:  Jesus is not ashamed to call me His sister; to call you His sister; to call you His brother.  He loves us!  He died and took away our stuff that God couldn’t look at, so God could look at us – so we’d be able to spend time with Him for eternity.

 

Let me end with a question.  If the Lord Jesus isn’t ashamed of you, who are you to be ashamed of yourself?

3 thoughts on “Not Ashamed

Your Thoughts?

