Food Poverty?

I had the radio on yesterday and they were talking about an increasing number of people in the UK living in ‘Food poverty’.  If I remember rightly, they said 14% of people had no choice but to spend 10% of their income on food bills, and the poorest households spent more than that!  Is this what they call poverty?

 

I’ll usually spend more than 10% of my income on food bills, and I would never categorise myself as someone living in poverty.  I always have enough to eat, and enough to share.  Perhaps our media need to visit places like the Philippines, where a boiled egg is divided between 7 people, before filling our news with such rubbish.

Your Thoughts?

