Friend Friday: The man on the Platform

One of my friends blogged yesterday about how he’d reached ‘Platform 65’.  I love thinking what to do for people’s birthdays; some things happen, others just stay as ideas.  Well, one of my plans for this year didn’t quite work.  After reading one of Sharon Jaynes’ posts last month, I wanted to write down 65 things I appreciated about my friend ready for his birthday, but I only got to 47.  Don’t worry; I won’t list them all here, but I can do a few:

 

First, he loves Jesus and lives for His glory.  Of course, there are many things in our lives:  We’ve all got to eat; we’ve all got to fill our days with something … but if you can glorify God in it all, that’s what makes a person.

 

Second, well two things really, he makes me smile and he’s fun.  The church I go to now isn’t a posh church:  People just come wearing whatever they feel comfortable in.  Well, last weekend, I was out for lunch with the family afterwards and there wasn’t time for me to go home and change, so I wore a dress instead of the trousers I’d normally wear.  When my friend turned up to give me a lift, he said:  “Why have you got your legs out?”  It made me laugh, and Mum too when I told her later.

 

30 December 2004 was a very special day; it was when I started recording my first album.  Although I’d met my friend briefly before then, I’d never worked or spent time with him, but I was looking to make a CD, and on his website he wrote:  I’m born again, water-baptised, Spirit-filled, and God-anointed to work in music.  I’m not sure it says that any more, but I got so excited and thought:  “Hey!  What else do you need?”

 

One of my songs had a verse about how Jesus’ mother would have felt when He died on the cross.  My friend put a staccato viola into the song, but it made me giggle, and I didn’t want to sing ‘A sword will pierce your own soul’ to music that sounded so cheerful!  So I told him and he changed it.  When we got to the backing-vocals stage and I said it didn’t need any, he said:  “Are you sure?  We can always mute it if it sounds too joyful.”

 

And a final two things?  He inspires me/gives me courage I wouldn’t have had on my own.  It was him who said:  “Why don’t you start blogging?”  I hadn’t read many blogs then and my first posts were more like essays!  But now, thanks to other bloggers, I’ve learnt to keep them to 700 words at most.  As the Bible says, one friend sharpens another, and I’m so grateful for the times my friend has stepped in and helped me in my Christian life.  Yes; we need to love God first and with all our hearts, but we also need each other.

 

So, my birthday tribute to ‘The man on the Platform’.  He started his ‘Platform’ posts at 60; I very much hope to still be there at platform 90, and maybe by then I’ll have 90 points down on my list!

Your Thoughts?

