A-Z: Glow

I’ve written before about a negative experience I had of someone praying for my sight and me not receiving it.  There have been a few of those.  Thankfully though, having been a Christian for 13 years, I can count them on one hand, but can you have positive experiences of healing when you’ve not been physically healed?  Well, I would say yes, and today, on day 7 of the A-Z challenge, I’ll tell you about one of them.

We had a visiting speaker at church who’d seen many miracles.  Several of us went up for prayer and when it was my turn, he asked me:  “What do you want the Lord to do for you?”

“Whatever He wants.”  The speaker’s wife prayed with me for a bit and the meeting came to a close.  On my way home, I realised I should have been specific.  Like the man in the Bible when Jesus asked what he wanted, I should have said:  “I want to see!”

The next week, it was another visiting speaker – the man who’d preached at my baptism.  Again I went up for prayer, and amazingly, he asked exactly the same question!  “What do you want the Lord to do for you?”

So I said it.  “I want my sight.”

He gently put a finger on each of my eyelids and turned to face the rest of the church.  “Everybody pray,” he said in a voice full of emotion, and everybody did.  “Can you see?” he asked, so I told him no and we carried on praying.  “Can you see?” he asked again.

“No.”

“Well, what’s happening?  Your face is radiant!”  I don’t know whether he meant my face literally shone, like Moses’ when he walked down the mountain after meeting with God.  Maybe it did, but I felt radiant too.  I cannot describe the feeling when you’re there being prayed-for, knowing that in a moment God could completely change your life.  It takes your breath away.

And afterwards, I wasn’t made to feel like a second-class citizen.  We were asked to go on praying for this throughout the week, and people came to me with their encouragement.  One friend said she believed God would want me to see because He’d made such beauty on the earth; someone else had a word for me that I’ve always remembered …  I really felt they were with me, not against me.

Is God awesome to you?  Do you go to church with a glow in your cheeks, and an expectancy that today He might just change your life forever?

Your Thoughts?

