31 Days of Song: “He’ll Take Care of the Rest”

We seem to have a bit of a songwriters theme on Tuesdays.  Matt Redman, Paul Baloche – well, here’s another one:  Keith Green.  He died in a plane crash in the 1970s, when he was 28, but he’d done a lot of work before then with the homeless and made a catalogue of albums.

 

He wrote some hard-hitting songs, like “Asleep in the Light” (which is a real wakeup call to Christians); he wrote songs of devotion to Jesus – “There is a Redeemer” (co-written with his wife Melody), and “O Lord, You’re Beautiful”.  I could have picked any of those, but I chose this one.  I’ve only watched a DVD about Keith, so can’t say much about who he was as a person, but I think this song shows he must have enjoyed making people smile.  It’s one I listen to when I’m happy and also to build me up in my faith.

Your Thoughts?

