31 Days of Song: “Still Calls me Son”

I’ve been reading Song of Solomon this week.  For anyone who hasn’t read it, it’s an absolutely lovely book in the Bible.  When I read it, I think of the man (the lover) as Jesus, and the woman (the beloved) as the bride of Christ – the church, which I’m a part of.  When you look at the man’s words and see them as Jesus talking to His church, well … let me show you what I mean.

“My darling, everything about you is beautiful, and there is nothing at all wrong with you” – Song of Solomon 4:7.  It blows me away to think that God sees me that way, and He does:  Because Jesus died and took my punishment, God looks at me through that lens and sees me as flawless.

“There may be sixty queens and eighty slave women and so many girls you cannot count them, but there is only one like my dove, my perfect one” – Song of Solomon 6:8-9.

“I belong to my lover, and he desires only me” – Song of Solomon 7:10.

“So I was to him, as one who brings happiness” – Song of Solomon 8:10.  That last one is one of my favourites.  We may not always get it right, but what we’re designed for is to bring contentment to our Bridegroom, and we can do that now and for eternity.

* * *

I hope those verses have blessed you as much as they have me.  This song talks about God’s favour too – that when someone comes back to Him searching for forgiveness, He looks at them and calls them His son.

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Song: “Still Calls me Son”

  1. “I hope those verses have blessed you as much as they have me. ” yes, they have. Thanks a lot for sharing :D.

Your Thoughts?

