Typhoon Alphabet

“What more can I say about the Philippines than has already been said?”  I think that’s why I hadn’t written about it here, but yesterday a lady at church (who comes from the Philippines) told us something I hadn’t heard before.

I had seen someone call the typhoon Yolanda instead of Haiyan, which I thought was strange, but yesterday I found out why.  In the Philippines, they name their typhoons after women, starting every year with the letter A.  Typhoon Yolanda means that this year, they must have had 25 typhoons.  25 typhoons in 11 months seems unimaginable, doesn’t it?  It certainly surprised me.

I’ve just found out the island where Cindy lives is without electricity and may not receive it for another 40 days, so what can we do?  Well, we can pray.  We can ask for the power on that island to be reconnected so they won’t have to wait another 6 weeks.  God said He was concerned about suffering as long ago as when the Israelites were slaves in Egypt, and He loves the people of the Philippines, so we can ask Him to comfort them, and we can be a part of the relief effort by giving.  If like me you’ve heard on the news that the UK is sending £30 million in aid, maybe like me you wonder whether what you can give will amount to anything.  When I think about this, I think of a man who spoke at a road-show I went to.  He was a pastor who’d been in prison for his faith and received over 90,000 letters.  He asked us to imagine what would have happened if every one of those people thought their letter wouldn’t make a difference.

Please prayerfully give what you can.  I believe every pound helps.  I know there is concern when you give money about whether it gets to where it’s needed most, and that’s why I’d personally recommend Compassion – because they’ve worked with local churches in the Philippines for years and I know they have contacts in the affected area, so if you’re in the UK you can give here, or here if you’re in the US, or perhaps there’s another organisation close to your heart or you have a contact there yourself.  However you give, thank you, and if you’ve got family or friends in the Philippines, please know that you’re loved and supported in prayer.

Your Thoughts?

