Wield Those Drivers

No, I’m not talking about golf clubs, though there is a similarity.

The other week, a lady told me I had so much to give to the church (those we worship with on a Sunday).  I’m on the worship-team and sing upfront every couple of weeks, but she said:  “I meant the wisdom.”  Wisdom?  I don’t have a responsible, highly-paid job, or a young family who need my input.  I feel like lots of people have had steep learning curves and therefore are wise because of them.

But people’s encouragement, their compliments really, can be like a driver is to that golf ball:  They can launch something inside you.  In my case, it reaffirmed that yes, I do have something worthwhile to say (and who doesn’t need that reassurance).  I’m grateful that through this blog and the Facebook-groups I’m in, I can share my thoughts with the world.

Of course, the tongue can have the opposite effect.  People’s fears and doubts can be like seeds if you let them, causing fear and doubt to sprout in your own heart.  Please, use your words to motivate people, and drive them towards being all they were made to be.

10 thoughts on “Wield Those Drivers

    • Oh, thank you. I read your post first and thought it was really interesting – what you said about people staying on a site usually for less than 2 minutes. I wasn’t consciously trying to fit a lot into a small space, but maybe that was an influence.

  1. Ah, love this, Sarah! You have certainly been a great encouragement to me and I am so thankful for you and others who continue to “launch” me.
    Yes, keep writing, friend. Keep being you!

  2. Great words! Having confidence in others and encouraging them makes it so much easier for them to share their words. I’ve had many people do that for me, and I will do it for others, too.

Your Thoughts?

