Born to be With You

In answer to today’s Daily Post, yes I have a best friend. He has so many good qualities. Let’s start with creativity: The day I was born, my friend saw the commotion. He heard the clatter of trolley wheels down hospital corridors. As people peeped through the window at us and dreamed of the future, my friend knew only one of us would make it, and looked for a way to communicate with me. He knows everything – every twist and turn in life, every struggle inside my fickle heart. Do I really love my friend … or only me, and will I always put my friend first above myself?

 

As I grow and learn, as I cry over big and small things, I know my friend suffered more than my biggest let-down – felt more vulnerable than me at my most afraid. And as I laugh with the friends I’ve been given, as I marvel at things I’ve done that I thought I could never do, I know it’s nothing compared to the joy where my friend is.

 

His name is Jesus, and He’s in heaven, where He’s gone to fix up a place for you and me. He saw and heard the day you were born, too. When you hurt, you can think of Him: People tried to stone Him; His family thought He was off His trolley; before He went to the cross He was blindfolded, slapped in the face and asked who hit Him – vulnerability, and we can’t imagine His pain on the cross as His shoulders were yanked backwards, and hands nailed behind Him so He was almost on all-fours. He went through all that to identify with you in your suffering, and any contentment you’ve felt in this world is just a taste of what’s to come in eternity.

 

I know lots of people have heard about Jesus, but if reading this does something in your heart – if there’s a connection you haven’t felt before, I’d really encourage you to talk to God about it. There’s so much more to Him than stories on a page. Jesus rose from the dead; He’s alive in heaven, and He wants to be your best friend.

12 thoughts on “Born to be With You

  1. Pingback: About a Panda | jigokucho

  2. Pingback: An ode to a soul mate who doesn’t exist | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: Welcome Back! | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: “Give her the truth serum, NOW!” | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily prompt: Soul mate | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  8. Pingback: Yearning for The One : a misguided human quest? Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  9. Pingback: My Soul Mate: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “The Ice Maiden” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  12. Pingback: Your Eyes | It's Mayur Remember?

Your Thoughts?

