Proverbs in 31 Days

I hope you enjoyed the A-Z challenge last month.  This month, Proverbs has 31 chapters and I’m setting myself a challenge to read it in 31 days.  Will you join me?

* * *

“These are the wise words of Solomon son of David, king of Israel.  They teach wisdom and self-control” (Proverbs 1:1-2), just in case you wondered what Proverbs was there for!

 

“My child, if sinners try to lead you into sin, do not follow them.  They will say, ‘Come with us.  Let’s ambush and kill someone; let’s attack some innocent people just for fun’” (Proverbs 1:10-11).  Does that seem farfetched, as though you’re not likely to mix with those sorts of people?  I suppose it did to me in the past if I’m honest, but something awful happened last year in a city near where I live.  A woman randomly stabbed two men.  She and her accomplice were charged and went to court.  I heard one of the victims interviewed on the news and his words shocked me.  “She said, ‘Oh look, you’re bleeding.  I’d better do some more’.”  There really are people out there who would kill innocent people just for fun, and they might not be as far away from you as you’d think.  Please, don’t be an accomplice to sin.

 

What jumped out at you from the first chapter of Proverbs?

2 thoughts on “Proverbs in 31 Days

Your Thoughts?

