Don’t Put God to the Test

There’s a lot in Proverbs 3.  Today these verses made me think:  “My child, do not reject the Lord’s discipline … The Lord corrects those He loves, just as parents correct the child they delight in” (Proverbs 3:11-12), probably because I had just read Jarrod Cooper’s latest post, which talks about being correctable.  He says some people can’t handle correction, so they call it rejection … but God disciplines those He loves.  Are you accepting or rejecting God’s discipline?

 

And a verse I don’t seem to have noticed before is this one:  “Whenever you are able, do good to people who need help” (Proverbs 3:27).  I like that phrase – ‘Whenever you are able’, because it confirms what I’ve always thought:  That God doesn’t expect us to give beyond our means.  There are verses about a church who gave beyond their ability (2 Corinthians 8:1-5), but I believe that was the exception, not the rule for all of us.  Besides, if we do that with the wrong heart-motive, aren’t we in danger of putting God to the test?  “I’m giving beyond my ability; therefore You have to provide”?  Actually, God doesn’t have to do anything; He doesn’t even have to put up with us.  The things He does, He does because He loves us.  He sees us not just as people to put up with, but the apple of His eye.  Aren’t you glad?

Your Thoughts?

