Wisdom’s Greatest Delights

“I was like a child by His side.  I was delighted every day, enjoying His presence all the time, enjoying the whole world, and delighted with all its people” (Proverbs 8:30-31).

 

Proverbs 8 – a beautiful chapter on how wisdom was present before even the dust of the earth (verse 26).  And wisdom’s greatest delights?

 

God’s Presence Always:  Although the Bible says we’ve been brought near by the blood of Christ, sometimes we can feel closer to Him than others, but however we feel, the wisest thing we can do is to enjoy His presence all the time.

 

The World God Made:  Somebody told me once that she thought God would want me to see because He’d made such beauty on the earth.  As someone who can’t, I suppose it’s difficult to take as much of a delight in nature, but I do like birdsong, the smell of lilies, the smallness of daisies, and the sound of a babbling stream.

 

All God’s People:  I feel like I haven’t perfected any of these, but verse 31 says wisdom delights in all His people, even the ones I’d struggle to spend a couple of hours with.  The truth is that God made man in His image, so in every person, there’s something to delight in, and God takes great delight in us.

Your Thoughts?

