Mocking the Poor

“Those who mock the poor insult their Maker; those who rejoice at the misfortune of others will be punished” (Proverbs 17:5).

 

I was at a ‘Networking’ event just recently.  I remember feeling so out-of-my depth when I first heard the word networking, but it’s just a fancy word for meeting reps from different organisations and having a chat.  Anyway, someone was telling a housing officer about the council estate she grew up on.  She said it was a rough area, ‘But I was brought up properly’, as if she was a cut above the rest.  As a food bank secretary, I’ve had conversations to try to raise awareness of how a food bank works, but I still get the impression from some that they believe there shouldn’t be a food bank in a middle-class area such as ours.

 

That kind of attitude breaks my heart – that living somewhere which looks affluent from the outside should somehow distinguish us from everyone else, and from this verse I’ve read, I’m sure it breaks God’s heart too.  Please, don’t sneer at someone poorer than you; don’t be ashamed to have them on your doorstep, but give them some support, and remember the same God who created them created you.  They’re as precious as you are.

2 thoughts on “Mocking the Poor

Your Thoughts?

