The Thing About Curses

“Like a fluttering sparrow or a darting swallow, an undeserved curse does not come to rest” (Proverbs 26:2).

 

I wanted to share this verse today because when I’ve heard in the past about people being cursed I’ve felt some fear, but I think this does something to dispel that.  The New Century Version is the Bible I read most, and this verse in the NCV makes it even clearer.  “Curses will not harm someone who is innocent; they are like sparrows or swallows that fly around and never land.”

 

The thing about curses is, they needn’t rest on us.  When we put our trust in Jesus, God looks at us through Him, and it’s as if He’s looking through rose-tinted glasses.  Because of Jesus, our guilt is gone.  God sees us as innocent/blameless, and that’s what gives us authority over our enemy, the devil.  In this authority that Jesus has passed on to us, there’s power available to break every curse.

 

There are some times (and this is one of them) when I feel that what Jesus has done for us is too high and too wonderful for me to fully comprehend it, and all I can say is thank You.

Your Thoughts?

