“I Need Some Help Here!” Book-Review: Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

What I expected and what I got from this book were two different things.  The title “I Need Some Help Here!” makes me think of Michelle Pfeifer or Julia Roberts playing a harassed mum, up to her eyeballs in dirty nappies; yoghurt spattered on the wall; a pre-schooler with only one shoe …  I  expected lots of funny stories of little ones and their mishaps, and tips on how to cope with them; what I got was a very serious twelve chapters on how best to bring up children.  There were several stories, but more emotional than practical, and none that really made me laugh.  The first chapter was particularly hard-going.  To grab people’s attention, it should have started in chapter three.

 

This book could benefit new Christians, Sunday churchgoers, struggling parents or those who want to support them.  Its main themes being prayer and God’s sufficiency, there are prayers for children and their parents.  You will find useful advice in here (the chapter on mental illness especially), but Kathi’s packed a lot in to some of the chapters, so definitely not a light read to pick up and put down.  Changing the format to a month-long devotional might improve it somewhat, but I wouldn’t be falling over myself to buy this for a new mum.

Your Thoughts?

