For Your Diary This Week

I’ve just come back from hearing Maryam Rostampour and Marziyeh Amirizadeh speak.  If you’ve read their book “Captive in Iran”, you’ll know those names.  They’re 2 Iranian women who were recently put in prison for living out their Christian faith.  I’m full of admiration for them, especially when I think that one had her 28th birthday in prison.  They’ve been through so much in less than 30 years of life.

 

If you haven’t read the book, I’d thoroughly recommend this tour, and even having read it, it was lovely to hear them in person.  Some of the stories may have been repeated, but it seemed to reemphasise to me the way God used this situation to reach out even to their enemies.  At the end, I felt like I was offering applause to God for the courage He’d given them; the love for their people; the joy at such a trying time.

 

That’s why I’m writing this – to give you the opportunity to hear them for yourselves.  Their UK-tour’s only a week long, so if you’re near Upton Vale Baptist Church, Torquay (tonight at 7:30), Rora House, Halford, Newton Abbot (Saturday 12th, 10 am to 4:30 pm, tickets £15 for the day), Emmanuel Centre, Westminster (Tuesday lunchtime), or St Mary’s Church, Loughton (Wednesday 16th at 7:30), try to contact them and see if you can get there.  I don’t think you’ll regret it.

Your Thoughts?

