The Three Generations of Christmas

I had a thought just yesterday – something I’d never noticed before. I was reading about Liz Curtis Higgs’ book “The Women of Christmas” and it hit me. She’s written the book about Elizabeth (John the Baptist’s mother), Mary (Jesus’ mother), and Anna (the prophetess who saw Jesus after He was born).

Last year, I wrote about Anna, and said I wasn’t sure whether she was eighty-four or a hundred and five years old (it depends on the translation you look at).

So, we have Anna (who’s over eighty), Mary (a young girl from Nazareth, possibly twelve to fourteen years old), and Elizabeth (past childbearing age but sprightly enough to bring up John the Baptist, so maybe in her fifties or sixties). Three generations: Young Mary, Elizabeth in the middle, and the elderly widow Anna. Isn’t that how the body of Christ should be – people of all ages, all races, all backgrounds, each playing their part in the kingdom? Mary wasn’t too young and Anna wasn’t too old. After all, God is timeless/eternal, and one day we’ll be like Him. When we ask God for His kingdom to come on earth as it is in heaven, let’s not be surprised when it brings generations together to give Him glory.

I’m thankful that Mary, Elizabeth and Anna were each willing to play their part.

2 thoughts on “The Three Generations of Christmas

  1. Hi Sarah. I liked the look of that book you mentioned too, and am planning on reading it before Christmas. For now, I bought the other one that was recommended in the same email, the one about the Jesse tree, and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. I really want to get the most out of advent this year with Bible study.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • We have exactly the same taste in Advent books. 🙂 I got the free sample of “The Greatest Gift”, but haven’t bought it yet because there’s also a family version called “Unwrapping the Greatest Gift” which I thought might be an easier read. It’s not available on Kindle till next year, so I’m waiting to sample that and buy the one I like best.

      “The Women of Christmas” might be easier to read in Braille because there are 3 questions per chapter at the back of the book.

Your Thoughts?

