Known or Admired?

My friend Becky just celebrated her 4-year blogging anniversary by sharing an update on Facebook, and mentioning in the comments some of the writers whose words had impacted her. Having blogged for about the same amount of time (for me it’ll be 4 years in June), I wondered if I’d be one of them. As it happened, I did get a mention. My comment said: “Thank you for the friendship we’ve developed. Thank you for supporting me so well and for truly loving my family.” She’s not wrong; I’ve kept a few of the videos she’s shared (like the one where the baby girl says her brother’s name for the first time), but that comment meant so much to me. Though I’d like it if people were inspired by some of the posts on here, I’d far rather be known as a friend who loves people.

Do you know God’s like that too? Yes, He does prepare good works for us to do (Ephesians 2:10), but first and most importantly, He wants to know us. “I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know what his master is doing. But I call you friends” (John 15:15).

When was the last time you came to God … not with any prayer-request or money or good work well done, but just with yourself?

Your Thoughts?

