February Favourites

I got this idea from Crystal Stine’s Friday Favorites post. I thought I’d share a few things that stood out from this month:

Podcast: I’ve just recently started subscribing to these on iTunes, and a takeaway from February was Gary Chapman’s interview with Lysa Terkeurst – author of “The Best Yes”. Wise words in there.

Discoveries: Did you know Moses had a brother-in-law? And one he must have liked very much, because Hobab wanted to go back to his homeland, but Moses was very persuasive and talked him into travelling with the Israelites (Numbers 10:29-33). I’ve also put the Goodreads app on my iPhone. I hadn’t found their website very accessible with my screen-reading software, but a friend suggested the app instead and it’s brilliant. You have shelves for books you want to read, have read and are currently reading, and you can see your friends’ choices too.

Blog-Post: I’ve had a real treat this month with all those posts from the Dominican Republic. I really liked this one from Ruth about how a young boy preached on the Bible-reading she ‘Just happened’ to have read that morning. I don’t believe in co-incidences, but I believe in God-incidences.

Quote: “Do not ask God to feed the hungry if you have enough food in your pantry.” That seems so characteristic of God. After all, how did Jesus feed over five thousand people? With five loaves of bread and two fish that someone gave. He used what was already there. I don’t think He would expect one person to solve world-hunger, but each person can share their provisions with another.

Bible-Verse: Haggai 2:4 – “Take heart, … and begin to work. For I am with you”. Someone shared this days before my appointment with the job-centre, when I was told there was no more help they could give me. Of course, God’s work doesn’t have to be paid employment. There are many things we can do for the kingdom of God, in and out of the workplace.

What’s stood out for you this month? I’d love to know.

Your Thoughts?

