May Mementos and a Giveaway

Can you believe it’s the end of another month already? I didn’t seem to have much to alert you to in April, so I think I’ll join 2 months together.

Watch: Over Easter, the BBC broadcast a documentary fronted by the actor David Suchet. It was called “In the Footsteps of St. Peter”. I don’t know if you can get it on DVD, but I was impressed. For anyone who didn’t know much about Simon Peter, it might have inspired them to open a Bible and find out a bit more.

Book: One that really left an impression on me is “Hadassah: One Night with the King”. I’d heard Tommy Tenney’s preaching before, so when I saw he’d written a novel based on my favourite Bible-story, I had to read it. It gives us a glimpse of what Hadassah’s life might have been like before she was taken into the palace to become Queen Esther. Esther means ‘Star’, and I love how he picked up on that theme and took it through the book. One of my best reads so far this year.

Blog-Post: My friends, Nick and Crystal, are very driven people. I’ve never known anyone else run marathons whilst pregnant, but another of Crystal’s passions is social justice, and she and her hubby are adopting an eastern European girl with spina bifida. Of course, their hope is that with medical intervention, she’ll be able to walk and have a better quality of life, but they love her unconditionally and are keen to be her parents regardless. The charity they’re adopting with, Reece’s Rainbow, takes children’s security very seriously and doesn’t give out her real name; only a code-name – Abigail. This post by Crystal answers many of the questions they’ve been asked since announcing the adoption, so please pray for the family as they go through this process.

Plea: This must be the month for Abigails! I wrote about Abigaelle in Haiti earlier this month, and I’m sad to say she still doesn’t have a sponsor. It was her name that made this 3-year-old girl stand out to me. Abigail means ‘Of the Father of joy’, and I’m sure Abigaelle will be a gift from God to bring joy to whoever sponsors her.

Giveaway: I tend to read my Bible on the computer, but I did once buy myself a chronological Bible. It’s 5 MP3 CDs, which I think play in most CD-players. I personally didn’t get on with it because it doesn’t announce which book of the Bible it’s going into, but if you just want to hear the whole Bible in date-order, it might be your thing. If you would like it, please just leave a comment and I’ll choose a winner by the end of June. Feel free to enter whichever country you live in.

That’s it from me for this month, but what about you? What are you taking away from May?

One thought on “May Mementos and a Giveaway

  1. May has been crazy, and June will be about 10 times as much! The best thing about May was meeting you. 🙂 Thanks for mentioning us and our girl. Praying that Haiti Abi finds her sponsor very soon!

Your Thoughts?

