June Gems

It’s the last week in June, and time to share some takeaways from the month with you all.

Podcast: I’d really recommend this preach from Jarrod Cooper on overcoming stress. He speaks truth lovingly, encouraging us that just like a broken leg, with the right care and attention, our minds can mend too. His points were so well-made and a real help to me.

Quote: “Find your us in the middle of all the rush” (Lysa Terkeurst’s reminder that people are more important than things)

Discoveries: Having said that, God does give us things for our enjoyment. Mine for this month is my new bench. I got it with 15% off and I like the little table in the middle. It really makes me smile to sit out there with my phone and cup of tea, reading an EBook. I’ve also found something I hope my sponsored kids will enjoy. We’re only allowed to send paper items through Compassion, so sometimes it’s a struggle, but I love to send gifts, specially when they’re little and you can’t write such meaningful letters. Pipity do these brilliant activity books, with paper dolls in that kids can cut out and dress up. There are also puppet-show books. Definitely worth a look.

Blog-Post: Over in New York, my friends Becky and Dave are celebrating 17 years of marriage, and Becky’s been reminding us on Facebook of their love-story she wrote a few years ago. I’m a sucker for love-stories and read it all in one sitting. I’m sharing the final part because the poem in it is beautiful.

Bible-verse: A challenging one for this month. “Do not let yourself be quickly provoked, for anger resides in the lap of fools” (Ecclesiastes 7:9).

Books: Do you have friends you love to spend time with? Does it absolutely make your day when they surprise you by popping round for a cup of tea? I’ve got friends like that. As well as being a worshipper, songwriter, pianist, preacher, recording engineer … my friend Colin is also an author, who’s recently published his tribute to Dan Dare, a trilogy and a third collection of short stories.

I don’t know whether we’ve got the same tastes, but I hope you find something here that you like. If you want to recommend something you’ve enjoyed this month, I’d love to hear in the comments.

2 thoughts on “June Gems

Your Thoughts?

