31 Jesus-Benefits: Out with the Old

“Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered” (Psalm 32:1).

Day 2 of my Write31Days, and pretty close to the top of my list – of course it has to be:

The forgiveness God offers to us.

The night God first let me know where I stood with Him, I was envious because my younger sister was having driving lessons. When I told people my story afterwards, some would say: “Well, you can’t see. That’s only natural,” but just because it’s natural doesn’t make it right. So many will try to tell you you’re ok; you’re basically a good person, but the truth is, our old selves can’t stand before God. We’re walking down the wrong path and need someone to save us. We need Jesus to come along and make those wrong things in our lives disappear.

“Listen, if your hand is on the plow but your eyes are looking backward, then you’re not fit for the kingdom of God” (Luke 9:62).

12 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: Out with the Old

  1. I’m happy to find another blind blogger as well! And this is very convicting. I can’t quite understand the pains of not getting to learn to drive but the giving it up just about killed my spirit. I’m going to be eager to follow along with the other Jesus benefits this month.

    • Thanks for the follow; that means a lot.

      I remember the first time I did a train-journey with my cane and how good it felt. I hope you’ve got decent public transport where you are.

      I’m happy that I found you too (through Dianne on Twitter) and it would be nice to chat more.

  2. Hi, Sarah. I’ve come here through 31 Day Survivors Group on Facebook.
    I went to church for the first time at the age of 20, and it took me nearly one year to realize that I’m a sinner and that I need the Savior. Now I’m really grateful that I’ve accepted Him as my savior.
    Blessings to you.

  3. Finally getting around to commenting from the Survivors group’s 5-4-5. Such a great reminder that we all need our Savior’s grace and love.

Your Thoughts?

