31 Jesus-Benefits: I can Stay Intact

“Forgive as the Lord forgave you” (Colossians 3:13).

Yesterday, we looked at God’s forgiveness. Today I want to expand that to:

The way He’s taught me to forgive others and myself.

If you’ve lived on this earth for any length of time, you will have been hurt or disappointed. Forgiving someone may not keep your relationship intact; they’ve got to receive the forgiveness for that to happen, but it’ll certainly keep you intact. It’ll deal with the anger and bitterness you feel. You may have those feelings more than once and have to keep offering the situation to God in prayer, but He’ll be so pleased every time you bring it to Him.

“If you forgive those who sin against you, your heavenly Father will forgive you. But if you refuse to forgive others, your Father will not forgive your sins” (Matthew 6:14-15).

7 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: I can Stay Intact

  1. It is very hard sometimes to forgive others. I wish I could say I don’t tend to hold a grudge but I do. As you mentioned, sometimes I have to ask the Father for help over and over again. Harder yet, though, is to forgive myself.

    • I’m with you there. 🙂 The reason I wrote about bringing it to God more than once is because I’ve had to do that myself with some situations. You think you’ve forgiven someone and then you find you still feel angry when you think about them. I’m so glad God is patient with us.

    • Yeah. Often the other person can be going along with their life quite happily and not seem to care about smoothing things over. That’s why I’m glad forgiveness is between God and us. If we had to wait for the other person to apologise, we could be carrying things around a long time.

Your Thoughts?

