31 Jesus-Benefits: Celebrating the Good

“Always be joyful. … Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus” (1 Thessalonians 5:16, 18).

Day 5 of Write31Days and here’s an unexpected truth:

Believing in God has made me more thankful.

What I’ve found is that even in the bleakest of circumstances, there’s always something to be joyful about – the roof over my head, the chair I’m sitting on, the food on my table, the water in the taps …

And why is joy important? Because “The joy of the LORD is your strength” (Nehemiah 8:10). In contrast, “A crushed spirit dries up the bones” (Proverbs 17:22). A crushed spirit will only make you weak, but celebrating the good in your life makes you stronger.

15 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: Celebrating the Good

    • I don’t keep a journal, but if you’re someone who’s used to doing that, a gratitude one sounds fantastic. It’s definitely helpful when I’m having a rubbish day to think of the things I’ve still got to be grateful for.

  1. What a great reminder! I am wearing my shirt today that says “Choose Joy!” after having a crummy start to the morning. It is so easy to have a negative perspective… and so important to see the good!

  2. So true! I used to keep a gratitude journal but do it more internally most of the time now. I’m starting a Thankful Thursday on my blog this week though to make it more intentional each week. Ann Voskamp has brilliant and creative resources on gratitude.

    • “Thankful Thursday” – I like that.

      I struggle with Annn Voskamp’s blog because of the music. I have speech software reading the screen on my computer and it’s hard to listen to both at the same time. There’s probably a setting to disable the music, but I’m not that technical! I am thinking of reading one of her books this Advent though.

      • That would make it difficult for you! I generally read her posts on my email or mobile where the music doesn’t play!

Your Thoughts?

