31 Jesus-Benefits: Christmas!

Today I want to focus on something I’ve had a new appreciation of since being a Christian, and it’ll soon be here again:

Christmas!

The carol encourages us (whilst taking in the snow outside) to see in our mind’s eye Jesus, born for us here on earth. “Lo, within a manger lies ~ He who built the starry skies”! The meaning of Christmas, its very centre, is Jesus coming into the world as a tiny, helpless baby.

I remember 2001, going to church on Christmas Day. I loved it! My pastor asked us what time we got up, and someone (an adult, not a child) got up at five fifteen! Me and him were going through the same thing – our first Christmas with a church-family. Being around other believers on such an important day still holds a specialness for me.

“While they were in Bethlehem, the time came for Mary to have the baby, and she gave birth to her first son. Because there were no rooms left in the inn, she wrapped the baby with pieces of cloth and laid Him in a feeding trough” (Luke 2:6-7).

8 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: Christmas!

    • I love it too, and all the preparation that goes into it. The end of a year seems the perfect time to thank people for the part they’ve played in your life and make them feel special, but I like to be ready a bit before so that I can (like you say) enjoy the quiet moments as well.

  1. I am really looking forward to Christmas this year! It will be our first one in our new house so we can establish some new traditions, and it will be our first one in a while with a church family!

    • Oh, that’s such good news! I’m so glad you’ve got a new house and things are working out better for you since the fire. I’m not sure we’re having a meeting on Christmas Day this year because at the moment, we’re having a new church built, but hopefully our pastor will arrange something with one of the other churches so we can get together.

Your Thoughts?

