31 Jesus-Benefits: A Positive Change

“For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things He planned for us long ago” (Ephesians 2:10).

Day 21 and time to focus on one of the ways my faith has affected me:

I’ve become more outward-looking.

Previously I had been happy to absorb myself in the music I listened to, TV or writing for pleasure, but the first thing I wanted to do as a Christian was to help other people. That’s played out in several different ways, but one that comes to mind is the children I sponsor through Compassion. Compassion works in Asia, Africa, Central and South America. At school I had no interest in geography whatsoever. It was one of my worst subjects and I dropped it as soon as I could. Had I been a Compassion-sponsor back then, things might have been different. Now I love to read about Compassion Bloggers travelling to far-off places, or I find myself wondering: “What’s the weather like in India?” or “What’s the capital of Ecuador?” (it’s Quito, by the way). I can only thank God for this positive change in me.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is … kindness” (Galatians 5:22).

* * *

As we’ve talked about Compassion in this post, there’s a book I’d like to give away to one of my readers. The author is Compassion’s former president, Wess Stafford (if you’ve read his autobiography you’ll love him). This book is “Just a Minute”, and it’s about the impact our words can have when we spend just a minute with a child. If you want to leave a comment, to do with children or impacting those around you, I’ll announce a winner on October 31st. Don’t forget there’s also the Dayspring.com $500 giveaway if you want to enter that one.

10 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: A Positive Change

  1. Sarah, Loved your post! I actually worked for a Compassion child project in Kampala, Uganda back in 2001, so it was fun to read about this today! Thanks for sharing your words.

  2. I blog for Asia. I am not positive that it is associated with Compassion. I enjoy highlighting the needs in Nepal. There are so many great needs out there. I think it is wonderful that you help children like you do.

    • Hi Mary,
      You’re right that Compassion doesn’t work in Nepal at the moment, but they work in some Asian countries – Thailand, India, Bangladesh and the Philippines are the ones that come to mind straightaway. The Philippines was the first country I sponsored in, and I really feel for them at the moment with this latest typhoon.

  3. I am a local advocate for Compassion International, they are such a great organization! We sponsor 2 kids – Rueben in Bolivia and Collins in Ghana. We had a 3rd but he left the program.

    • Oh, that’s so sad when that happens. Jennylyn (my first) left the programme too. We’re in-touch vaguely on Fb, but I can’t communicate with her as much as I would like without the translators.

Your Thoughts?

