31 Jesus-Benefits: Unforgettable

“I, the LORD, made you, and I will not forget you” (Isaiah 44:21).

Day 24, and it was reading Laura’s post that gave me the idea for this one.

Down through the centuries, heartaches have come to so many who have prominence in God’s story: Joseph when his brothers sold him as a slave, he was falsely accused and thrown into prison; David when his dad invited all his sons to the special family meal, but not him; Esther when she was taken from her Jewish family and forced to become the property of the king of Persia. They must have felt forgotten, but God didn’t leave them feeling that way. With God’s help, Joseph interpreted Pharaoh’s dream and was placed second-in-command over the whole of Egypt. God’s spokesman Samuel poured oil on David’s head and he eventually became king of Israel. After prayer and fasting, Esther gained the favour of the Persian king and saved her people. One great thing about God is:

We’re unforgettable.

It was never His intention to leave His people desolate, and that includes us. Our assignment may not be to rule or save our nation, but we can trust Him to lift us off the scrapheap.

“Can a mother forget her nursing child? Can she feel no love for the child she has borne? But even if that were possible, I would not forget you! See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands. Always in my mind is a picture of Jerusalem’s walls in ruins” (Isaiah 49:15-16).

* * *

As a thank-you for being a reader who’s supported Write31Days, you could enter the Dayspring.com giveaway to win a $500 shopping spree on their website. It’s open till the end of the month.

15 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: Unforgettable

  1. Your posts are so encouraging! I just finished reading the book of Isaiah again and God states over and over how He loves His people. He doesn’t forget us. He will not overlook us!

  2. We are thinking alike this week or the Spirit is leading us in the same direction. I used the same scripture that you did. We are indeed unforgettable and loved. Thanks for the great reminder.

  3. “They must have felt forgotten, but God didn’t leave them feeling that way.”
    Thank you for bringing this perspective, to remember we are unforgettable to God. So grateful for that. Happy weekend to you!

  4. Ruthie, yeah, I put together a plan to read through it in a year. I read roughly 2 books from the Old Testament, followed by 1 from the New and it seems to be working well.

  5. Beautiful post. I love the stories of Joseph, David and Esther. And Isaiah is one of my favorite books of the Bible. That Scripture you posted is beautiful! have Isaiah 51:3 in a frame with pics of my Mom who passed away in April 2014. It was a verse God gave to me as I called out to Him in my grief and one I will always treasure.

    BTW I’m also reading through the whole Bible this year. Went through the whole New Testamant between Feb and Easter with the Community Bible Experience and now up to Psalms. Visiting as a fellow 31 Dayer.

Your Thoughts?

