31 Jesus-Benefits: Identifying with Him

“Anyone who believes and is baptised will be saved” (Mark 16:16).

That’s why on day 29 I can say I appreciate:

My baptism – because it’s a reminder that God’s hand is on my life. I’ve believed in Jesus. I’ve identified myself with His death and burial by going under the water, and I’ve come up to follow Him in my new life as a Christian.

Have you been baptised? Or have you thought about it? I’ve known people encounter tremendous pressure not to go through with it, but personally, I’m so glad I did.

My now-retired pastor (Alan) and my friend (Carol) baptised me. Everyone baptised in that church had a baptismal promise – a verse or two from the Bible on a certificate to commemorate the day. Alan and Carol stood in the warm water before I got in, and Carol read aloud the verses she’d chosen for me. They don’t mention baptism, but will always remind me of mine.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened” (Matthew 7:7-8).

* * *

Today is your last opportunity to enter to win a $500 shopping spree on Dayspring.com. If you’re outside of the US, you would have to pay for postage and any customs charges (just to warn you), but still, I hope one of my readers wins.

5 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: Identifying with Him

  1. Everything we do is grounded in our Baptisms. When I graduated seminary, my advisor gave me and all of his advisees this beautiful plaque with this saying “(My name), you are a baptized child of God; whatever else you are; remember that you are that; for that is the basis of whatever else you are.”

  2. My dad (also the pastor) baptized me in the very cold cold water outside our little country church when I was 11. I’ll never forget it because it was so cold, but also because I was well aware that I was identifying my life with Christ in God. I’m so thankful for my salvation!

Your Thoughts?

