31 Jesus-Benefits: Knowing our Bibles

It’s my last day of sharing with you these Jesus-benefits. Thank you if you’ve read along, and if you have, you might have guessed what I’ll pick out as one of the most important of all:

That I can read and understand God’s Word.

I read this post fairly recently and it impressed me. As John says in the second of his points, “You wouldn’t show your love for a spouse simply by how you talk about them, you’d show your love by knowing them, spending time with them”. That’s what the Bible does: It helps us get to know God.

I must thank fellow-blogger Barbara for sharing this quote from Elisabeth Elliot: “The Bible is God’s message to everybody. We deceive ourselves if we claim to want to hear His voice but neglect the primary channel through which it comes. We must read His Word. We must obey it.”

Back on day 25, we looked at Jesus – our ticket to heaven. I told you how someone joked about being left behind, and how that verse from 1 John came to me straightaway. Jesus said, “Your Word is truth.” We really need to know our Bibles. Otherwise, how can we hold onto truth when other people (and sometimes even our own feelings) try to tell us the opposite?

I’ve put together a plan to read through the Bible in a year with a bit of an introduction, explaining about the Bible and suggesting some good translations to try. Perhaps someone will find it helpful; it seems to be working well for me at the moment.

“I have hidden Your Word in my heart that I might not sin against You” (Psalm 119:11).

* * *

In case you’re wondering, the winner of the “Just a Minute” book I posted about earlier this month is Melissa, so congratulations to her and thanks to you who’ve supported me and other bloggers in our efforts to post for the 31 days in October. It’ll probably be much quieter here next month!

9 thoughts on “31 Jesus-Benefits: Knowing our Bibles

  1. I’m thankful that the first church I was part of when I became a Christian strongly emphasized reading the Bible through in a year, and that helped ground me in God’s truth more than anything else. I don’t read it in a year any more – I like to feel free to stop and spend more time on sections as I feel led – but I do still read it through, however long it takes, and it’s one of my passions to get others into His Word for themselves.

    • That’s so good that your first church got you into God’s Word. I know sometimes God does want us to stop and just spend time on certain passages (I remember someone giving a word to my pastor and him doing that for a while), and I hope I’ll always be open to that if God leads.

  2. This is a great final post. Recently I have been thinking about how when I read my Bible, I go to my familiar passages. And felt challenged to read more, read the ones that aren’t my ‘go-tos’ Thank you for your series and your heart!

    • Thanks, Melanie.

      Sometimes if I’m struggling with a passage, I find switching to a different translation can help. If you’re like me though, it’ll be the one you’re most used to that comes back to mind when you want to remember verses.

  3. Something I’ve been thinking about Sarah, and you mention it here. “We really need to know our Bibles.” We need to be dogmatic and unapologetic for the tenets of our faith. I want to read some good apologetics teachings. WONDERFUL SERIES and so glad you’re with us in our survivor group.

Your Thoughts?

