Worship with Darlene: “Worship Changes Everything” Book-Review

If I say this book is by Darlene Zschech, what’s the first thing you think of? Maybe you’ve never heard of her. Maybe you have heard of her, and you’re reminded of her recent struggle with breast cancer. For me, Darlene takes me back to when I first became a Christian. I listened to a friend’s “Shout to the Lord” album, and the end of one of the tracks where she talked about making known to all the world what God had done – not Hillsong Church’s music, but what God had done. When you hear of a book on worship from a worship-leader like that, it’s something to look forward to, so I was really pleased to receive a free copy from Bethany House in exchange for a review.

Had I been choosing the title for this book, I might have gone with “Your Worship, Your Everything”. Darlene prays God will use it to help us live our lives in His presence, and does a good job of exploring several aspects of worship through the various chapters. It seems she’s a lover of God’s Word, like me, as she takes us into some Bible-stories we may not at first associate with worship. I particularly liked her thoughts in chapter 7 on James and John at Gethsemane.

I’d recommend “Worship Changes Everything” not just to worship-leaders or Christian songwriters (who may well be drawn to it anyway), but to anyone who wants to experience God’s nearness and to know His love for them.

Your Thoughts?

