“Finding God in the Hard Times” Book-Review

Bethany House gave me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, but it didn’t have as much oomph as I expected it to. I respect Matt Redman for his song-writing and I love to hear his shouts of worship to God, but a good songwriter doesn’t always make for a good author.

Matt and Beth Redman look at how we relate to God in times of suffering, but I found it a bit longwinded. My favourite parts were the personal stories – how Beth coped with miscarriage, or how the couple met. These could definitely have been expanded on, but maybe they’re just private people.

Having read and enjoyed Matt’s book “The Unquenchable Worshipper”, I was disappointed that a couple of the stories are repeated here. I don’t believe you should write a book unless you have something new to say, and “Finding God in the Hard Times” didn’t feel very new. The guide at the end was helpful though, and cleverly, all the chapter-titles are lines from the song “Blessed be Your Name”.

Your Thoughts?

