Grief

Today a close friend of mine is at her dad’s funeral, so if you’d like to pray for her as you read, that would be brilliant.

I thought I’d write something on grief, even though I feel quite unqualified to. I haven’t grieved the loss of a parent or sibling, but my uncle’s death at 57 from cancer affected me deeply. We’re told in Psalm 34:18 that God is close to the broken-hearted, and He did feel particularly close at that time. A Bible-verse that jumped out at me was Romans 8:28: “In everything God works for the good of those who love Him.” When I trained to volunteer on the chaplaincy team at my local hospital, we were told not to quote this to a grieving person. I must be odd then, but I found it a real comfort that because God loved me, He would bring some good out of my family’s tragedy.

So, my positive message to anyone who’s grieving? You’re not without a Comforter. When Jesus knew His death was imminent, He tried to prepare His friends by promising them another Helper, who would be with them forever – the Holy Spirit (John 14:16-17). God is three persons rolled into one: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. He wants to be close to you and put His Spirit in you, so you’ll have someone there to give you the exact comfort you need in your situation.

One thought on “Grief

  1. Pingback: Envy | Faith, Life & Compassion

Your Thoughts?

