Weakness

Hard to believe it’s nearly a week ago, but last Saturday, I was in Manchester. I do some typing for ChristianityWorks in Australia, and my boss (the one who preaches all the sermons I type) was over in the UK to speak at a conference there.

Now my boss is a lovely guy. He’s an early riser – usually up at about 4 or 5 am, he’ll have some time reading the Bible and praying, then he’ll get straight to work, writing booklets or recording TV and radio-programmes to be broadcast worldwide. When I think driven/motivated, I think Berni, but he freely admits he has his weaknesses. He named a couple, and I could name some of mine. One would be co-dependency, or perhaps you’d call it idolatry. Sometimes my priorities are a bit skewed and I think it’s just as well I have certain people living nearby, because I couldn’t get by without them. I read a quote once: “An idol is whatever you have to check with before you say yes to God.” God always wants to come first in my life, and if my priorities are wrong, He wants to bring that home to me because He loves me. He meets my every need and puts special people in my life as a gift from Him, but I need to always keep the Giver above the gift.

Why am I telling you this? Because the conference on Saturday was primarily about the power God’s already given us to overcome these weaknesses of ours. As Berni said, “It’s the enemy who wants you to think: ‘I’m always going to struggle with that sin’.” I really appreciated being reminded of the dynamic power available to us in our weakness. If God’s Word says: “Do not be anxious about anything,” we don’t need to go away and still worry. God’s given us everything we need for life and Godliness: Everything we need to live our lives the way He wants us to. That’s a good thing to remember when you’re feeling weak.

Your Thoughts?

