Illness

I remember my nan telling me about a time before her mother died. She was very ill and kept repeating a certain phrase. I can’t remember what she said it was in Welsh, but it translated: “What have I done? What have I done?” I find it sad that at a time when they’re in most need of comfort and reassurance, not just my nan’s mother but others too wonder deep-down whether their affliction is some kind of punishment from God.

When you’re ill, you can hold onto the love God has for you. One of the verses I keep coming back to says that God “delights in the wellbeing of His servant” (Psalm 35:27). Illness is only a temporary thing. When we step into eternity with God, there won’t be any more sorrow, and He’ll wipe away all our tears.

If you’d like to read the rest of this Write31Days series, click here

Your Thoughts?

