Deception

If you were to ask me what I find most difficult to overlook, this would be it: When a friend has lied to me. I think I find it so difficult because a friend is someone I’ve made the choice to trust. We confide in one another, and I value what they say. When trust is broken, that’s turned on its head. They’ve deceived me. Their action shows they don’t value my friendship, and they don’t want me as a confidante.

Jesus is no deceiver. He says: “I am the Way and the Truth and the Life.” He’ll never lie to us. He’ll never break our trust, and as we saw earlier this month, He says to His followers: “Love each other as I have loved you.” This gives us a responsibility as Christians to be totally trustworthy. It’s not for us to keep up a pretence. If we’ve agreed to something, we should stand by that, or have the courage to be honest if we’re failing.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things” (Philippians 4:8).

Your Thoughts?

