Everlasting Father

My dad’s a Scrabble champion. He makes the best apple crumble in the world. He talks to me and takes an interest in my life; I hope I do the same to him. I’m very grateful to still have him around, but I realise some children don’t have a close relationship with their fathers. Sometimes I don’t know what to pray for people who’ve lost their dads, except I know from the Bible that God is a Father to the fatherless, so I ask Him to be a Father to them – to somehow make up for all they’re missing out on. A friend once told me about a woman whose husband died, and in all the practical ways her husband would have provided for her, God met her needs. He’s a good Husband and Father.

If you’re a Christian and a parent, you can model God’s character to your children by loving them; by being there for them when they’re in a mess; by being generous with your time and resources; by being people of integrity.

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on His shoulders. And He will be called Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace” (Isaiah 9:6).

Your Thoughts?

