Immanuel

Today I want to share a song written by my friend, Kelly Wickham. I don’t know whether she wrote it with Christmas in mind, but I think it would be lovely on a Christmas playlist. It’s on an album called “What’s in Your Hand”, and you can contact Kelly via her Facebook page.

* * *

You left Your throne in heaven above;
Sent from the Father in His great love,
Into a world of confusion and strife –
You gave Your all so we would have life.

Immanuel, God with us,
Went from a manger to a cross;
Bore all our sins and defeated the grave –
With all that is in me, and all that I am, I’ll praise Your name
.

You came to this world so that we might see
The Father of Truth, and be set free;
Gladly You served and freely You gave,
But all You received was rejection and shame.
Immanuel, God with us

Jesus, I thank You for all You’ve done for me;
If You had not come down, I don’t know where I would be:
I would be lost and so alone,
Without any hope; with nowhere to go,
But You’ve made the sacrifice, and now I give You this sacrifice
Of praise – hallelujah!

And You will come again to this earth,
But not the same way You came at first;
Instead of a manger and stable so mean,
You’ll come in power and victory.

Immanuel, God with us,
Reigning in glory and lifted up;
Jesus – the name above all names –
For ever and ever, all of creation will praise Your name:
With all that is in me, and all that I am, I’ll praise Your name
.

Your Thoughts?

