King

I’d like to focus on an encounter Jesus had just before He died. My loyal blog-readers might know that one of my favourite books in the Bible is the gospel of John. I love the detail John goes into and how he takes the time to find the good in people.

* * *

Jesus is brought before Pilate – the Roman governor. After some protest, he takes Jesus into his palace and asks: “Are you the king of the Jews?”

“My kingdom is not of this world,” says Jesus. “If it were, My servants would fight to prevent My arrest by the Jewish leaders.” Just these couple of verses highlight how much it cost for Jesus to sit on that heavenly throne. In order for God to lift Him up, He needed to lower Himself and die a barbaric death on a cross. He needed to do that to bring people into His kingdom. “And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to Myself” (John 12:32).

“You are a king, then!” I imagine Pilate sneering.

“You say that I am a king,” Jesus responds. “In fact, the reason I was born and came into the world is to testify to the truth.” Not only did Jesus pay a high price for His kingship, He was born with that price on His head.

I could leave you there hanging, but I’d rather share Pilate’s change of heart. Having had Jesus beaten, Pilate returns to the Jewish leaders and washes his hands of the case. “I find no basis for a charge against Him.”

But the leaders insist: “He must die, because He claimed to be the Son of God.” Now any sneer is well and truly wiped off Pilate’s face, and it’s back inside with Jesus for more questions.

“Where do You come from? … Do You refuse to speak to me? … Don’t You realise I have power either to free You or to crucify You?”

“You would have no power over Me if it were not given to you from above. Therefore the one who handed Me over to you is guilty of a greater sin.” I believe that was the moment when Pilate was transformed – when he realised Jesus was more than just an exceptional human being.

John confirms it was at that point that Pilate tried to have Him released, but the Jews are firm. “Anyone who claims to be a king opposes Caesar.” Pilate may have had run-ins with his employer in the past. Perhaps knowing his job was on the line was enough to tip him over the edge. Whatever the reason, he allows Jesus to be crucified, but has a sign fastened above the cross which reads (in several languages): Jesus of Nazareth, the king of the Jews.

The priests aren’t in favour of this and try to contest it, but finally, Pilate stands by his principles. “What I have written, I have written.”

* * *

The full dialogue is in John 18:28-19:22. Perhaps it can encourage you that even if fear or pride have got in the way, God’s forgiveness is on offer. It’s not too late to turn around, and stand up for what you believe in.

Your Thoughts?

